It’s a Family Affair

Last weekend, my brother Heath received his white coat in preparation for clinics starting in January. My family and grandmother made the trip up to Philly for the ceremony bringing two more dogs into our tiny apartment. The ceremony started at 5:30pm causing me to run from the hospital to the ceremony. I snuck in with moments to spare.

file_008Our school waits until the fall of your third year right before clinics start to give students their white coat. I feel like it means so much more getting our coat at this point in school. Some schools have their white coat ceremony during first year orientation.

My parents are both veterinarians and my brother and I are just about to finish school. It makes it extremely special to be almost done and have my dreams come true and I know my brother feels the same way. For me, it was fun to be on the other side of my white coat ceremony after being in clinics for over ten months. I know my brother is going to have a great time ahead of him in clinics. I loved having my parents at my white coat ceremony because they knew first hand all the hard work that goes into these four years of school.

file_003file_002file_001file_000

The ceremony was great and a great excuse to have our family come up and visit. I have not been able to go home and visit for the past few weeks, so it was nice to see everyone. We went out to dinner afterwards to celebrate and catch up. We went to City Tap House which is a great local bar and restaurant. Their beer list is always extremely extensive and it’s great to try something new! Despite the fact that is was cold and extremely windy, we got gelato on the walk home which was a great way to end the night.

Leave a Reply

