Sundays are for Football

There is nothing I love more than camping out in the living room watching football all day Sunday. The only thing that makes it better are the snacks you get to eat all day long. Starting in college, I would come home on Sundays to watch football with my dad. It was our tradition. I would make a ton of food, and we would just watch football. The only time we would turn the TV off is if the game was bad or boring.

My family is a huge Baltimore Ravens fan causing the Sunday mood to fluctuate depending on how the game went. My mom came and watched for certain games, either for the Ravens, Redskins, or Peyton Manning (he’s a big family favorite), but spent most of her day getting chores and errands done.

It got really hard for me to watch the games once I started graduate school. I wasn’t able to go home to watch the games anymore, and I spent most of my Sunday studying for my Monday exams. I would sometimes turn the TV on in the background, but my concentration dropped drastically. The hardest part was that the Eagles and Ravens share a network, meaning that the Eagles’ game was played in place of the Ravens’, and I didn’t get to watch.

This weekend is the Superbowl, which is one of my favorite Sundays of the year. It can be such a toss up though depending on the game. Some years there have been great games and some years there have been blowouts, but the commercials are always there if the game is not so great!

pats vs falcons.png

image

One of my favorite dips to make for the big game is Buffalo Chicken Dip. It is always a crowd pleaser, and it is super easy to make! Here is the recipe.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

buff-chicken

image

Ingredients:
1 rotisserie chicken (about 1 pound)
1/2 cup of buffalo sauce (or more if you like it spicy!)
1/2 cup of ranch dressing
1/4 cup of blue cheese crumbles
2 cups of cheddar cheese

Steps:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Shred chicken into small pieces.
3. Mix blue cheese, ranch, buffalo sauce and 1 1/2 cups of cheese until well combined.
4. Mix in chicken.
5. Spread evenly in large pie plate.
6. Sprinkle the remainder of cheese on top.
7. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and warm!

I love to serve this with Tostitos Scoops or Fritos Scoops! It is also great with vegetables like carrots and celery or any type of cracker!

Some other things I love to make are pigs in a blanket and guacamole (a twist on your traditional guac). Finger foods are my favorite foods because you can graze all game!

 

Leave a Reply

