Phriends in Philly

One of my best friends, Caitlin, was able to come up and visit me in Philly this weekend. Her boyfriend came too and we had a wonderful time exploring the city. I love having friends here because it gives you an excuse to go out and explore. You sometimes take for granted the things that you are used to! With only a few weeks left here, I really wanted to make the most of my time here.

On Saturday, we spent the day catching up and walking around sight seeing. We ate lunch and hung out at Yards brewery. I love taking tours places, I definitely got this from my mom, and they have a great quick tour there! After lunch we walked down the waterfront under the Ben Franklin Bridge and over towards Elfreth’s Alley, the oldest residential street in America. I had never been over here and was stoked to go. The houses are so beautiful and full of so much character. I couldn’t imagine living there with people looking in your windows all day! I loved this drawing that was in the window and talked about the history of the street.Ā img_2388

We stopped at Betsy Ross’s house for a short while. It really is amazing how much history is in Philadelphia! Then, the three of us headed towards Reading Terminal Market to get some snacks and coffee. It was beyond packed in there, probably because it was so windy outside!

Our evening was spent at the Phillies game with some friends from school. We ate so many crab fries, the best game food! The game was crazy because the Phillies scored twelve runs in the first inning. Fun Fact! The record for most runs in a single inning in seventeen! The Phillies ended up winning the game, not to anyone’s surprise. It started to get a little chilly towards the end of the game, and we ended up switching out our beer for hot chocolate to stay warm!

The next morning we walked the dogs over to Federal Donuts for breakfast! The only way to eat these donuts is immediately, when they are hot and fresh and oh so delicious. We enjoyed sitting outside and soaking up the sunshine. My favorite donut is the strawberry and lavender, but you have to eat it right away when it melts in your mouth!

It was a wonderful and way too short of a weekend with these guys visiting! I am happy they live so close to where I am moving back to so I can spend more time with them. All in all, it was a jam-packed weekend of fun!

Leave a Reply

