Graduation Dresses

Graduation for me is extra special. I was able to skip a year of college when getting accepted into graduate school, but this was really bittersweet. I didn’t get to have a senior year of college to relax and spend time with my friends. I also didn’t actually graduate from college. I had the credits I needed to move on and off I went. It has taken me seven years, three years of undergraduate and four years of graduate school, to finally graduate from college. The running joke in my house is that I am the college drop out. Needless to say, I am beyond excited to finally graduate!!

These are photos from my high school graduation seven years ago! 

For me, finding the perfect dress is a must! When I graduated from high school, everyone wore white dresses under our white gowns. These gowns were paper thin and you could see right through them. Now, I am graduating in a black gown with a hood, so no one will actually see what I am wearing unless it is before or after, but this also allows us to wear whatever we want. I am really torn between wearing a white dress and a colorful dress. Lilly Pulitzer has the best white dresses, and who doesn’t need a new white dress? But, a great dress that I can wear all summer in a pretty print is the flip side!

1 // 2 // 3
4 // 5 // 6
7 // 8 // 9

For my graduation dress, I want something that is fun and comfortable. Straps are important to me because I cannot fidget with my dress when it is under a gown. I get too warm way too easily, so I want a dress that is light and airy that won’t make me sweat under the lights (our graduation is in an auditorium and not outside). Dresses have to be reusable for me! I am still a college student and my dress cannot break the bank. With less than one month until graduation, I have to make a decision and soon!

Leave a Reply

